Contact Us

Santa Fe County

Facts about Santa Fe County, New Mexico

Santa Fe County (Spanish: Holy faith) is a county in the U.S. state of New Mexico. As of the 2010 census, the population was 144,170, making it New Mexico's third-most populous county, after Bernalillo County and Doña Ana County. Its county seat is Santa Fe, the state capital.

Santa Fe County comprises the Santa Fe, NM Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Albuquerque-Santa Fe-Las Vegas, NM Combined Statistical Area.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,911 square miles (4,950 km²), of which 1,909 square miles (4,940 km²) is land and 1.5 square miles (3.9 km²) (0.08%) is water. It is the fifth-smallest county in New Mexico by area. The highest point in the county is the summit of Santa Fe Baldy at 3,847 meters (12,621 ft). It is drained by the Rio Grande and several of its small tributaries.


As of the 2010 census, there were 144,170 people, 61,963 households, and 36,183 families residing in the county. The population density was 75.5 inhabitants per square mile (29.2/km²). There were 71,267 housing units at an average density of 37.3 per square mile (14.4/km²). The racial makeup of the county was 76.2% white, 3.1% American Indian, 1.2% Asian, 0.9% black or African American, 0.1% Pacific islander, 15.1% from other races, and 3.6% from two or more races. Those of Hispanic or Latino origin made up 50.6% of the population.



Be the first to leave a review

Request a quote

Santa Fe County 505-933-7959